Brief History

During the 62nd session of the Nigeria Baptist Convention in 1977, a call went round for the Baptist Brotherhood Society in Baptist Churches to transform by adopting a new name and changes in activities in all local Baptist Churches to “Baptist Men’s Fellowship (BMF).”
The Baptist Men’s Fellowship was thus established at the First Baptist Church Lagos in 1982 with the following aims and objectives:

• To pray for the mission
• To teach mission and
• To embark on mission and evangelism work

Membership was drawn from all existing church societies in the church,
The first president of Men’s Mission Union was Mr. Emmanuel Ogundipe thereafter Chief J. Akin-George, Messrs A.O. Oyediran, S.O. Akiode and E.A. Ayoade (current president).
The following members have been called to glory: Bro. J.J.A. Akinleye, Bro. E.A. Adeleye, Pa. T.A. George, Bro. S.A. Akinola and Bro. Abayomi Fajobi.
The Men’s Missionary Union of the Church took responsibility to draw roster for Church societies to visit newly planted churches. The Men’s Missionary Union also supervises the Royal Ambassors. Counselors are nominated from the Men’s Missionary Union namely Bro. Oshodi, Bro. E.A. Alawode, Bro. Bode Idowu and Bro. Kehinde Amao.
The Men’s Mission Union also takes responsibility for the needs of the Royal Ambassador’s Camping, Conference programme, Nigeria Baptist Convention in session, even intercontinental programmes.