Historical Trend

For a church founded in 1855 and being exposed from time to time to the best in musical talents. The First Baptist Church Lagos has always been producing one of the best choirs in the whole of Lagos and environs.
In the early forties and fifties, this church was always packed full in the evenings when the choir rendered cantata of sacred songs. We had names like Mrs. Olubunmi Elliot, the Adejumobi Brothers, the Ogundipe Brothers, Mr. Modupe Dawodu, Mr. Gboyega Oshodi, Mr. Akin Bankole, Mr. D.B. Oshun and a host of other choristers whose names are too numerous to mention whose baritone voices at times suppressed the sound of the organ.
Those names readily come to mind as soloitsts whose performance were always of the highest standard. The caliber of these singers had always been blessed by able, willing and hard-working choirmasters and organists such as

Mr. A.A. Akintola, Mrs. H. Carson, Dr. J.A. Adegbite, Mr. T.A. Bankole (grandfather of Ayo Bankole Jnr), Late Mr. Emmanuel Adetunji Molajo (SAN), Mr. Jim Ayo Ogundana, Deacon (Professor) Ayodele Tella, Mr. Kunle Idowu, Mr. Timothy Adetunji Cole and Mr. Gladstone ‘Segun George.

In like manner, the Church has also been blessed with the best and superb organist that the whole of Nigeria could boast of in the likes of Mr. Ralph Aleen and Mr. Isaac Alade who took over from Mr. R. Allen and played for considerable length time with Mr. Ige Majiyagbe as the assistant organist.
In 1927, Mr. G.O Benjamin from Wesley Church Olowogbowo replaced Mr. Majiyagba as assistant organist, and also from the same Church in 1928 came Mr. Fagbenro Beyioku who replaced Mr. G.O. Benjamin. It was the late Mr. T.A. Bankole who recommended the Late Mr. Nathaniel Akinremi Cole (Papsy Cole, as he was called by his friends), to be his assistant in 1948. Mr. Akinremi Cole became organist in 1953 and served the church from 1948 till death in 1985 a period of 37 years being the longest serving organist. After his death the following organists passed through this church – Late Mr. Kwesi Stephens, Taiwo Mojimoniyi, Ajayi Clegg, Sunday Omotosho, Messrs Wole Hicks and Michael Akinola, and presently Messrs Olatunji Bolade and Rotimi Adeyemi.
In 1994 the choir celebrated 70th Choir Festival Anniversary with programme stretching from Sunday, 14th August to Sunday 11th December, 1994. The programme planning chairman was Mr. Noah Ola Iyanda.
In 2004, the choir celebrated 80th Choir Festival Anniversary. Both celebrations were successful to the Glory of God.