Right from the inception of this church, the Union’s role in worship service was recognized; hence it was included in the published constitution of the church, since 1934.
The Chief Sides-man (now Chief Usher) was Bro. M.A. Cole (1934). After him Bro. Durosinmi – Etti became Chief Sides-man and then the following Chief Sidesmen served the Church – Pa. James Ogunlana Jaiyeola (1951-1960), Bro. Emmanuel Oyeleye Orisabiyi (1951 – 1955) and Bro. Emmanuel Adejare Joda (1956 – 1967).

In 1968, the Church adopted a new constitution and the name of the union was shortened to Ushers Union. The following have since served the Church as Chief Ushers: Bro. Morakinyo Adeyemo Kayode (1968 – 1970), Bro. Atanda Oladunni Olakunle (1971-1977), Pa. J. Adekojo Ishola ( 1978-1983), Bro. Phillip Bamidele Agbonhin (1984-1988), Bro. Elijah Oyekunle Dare (1989-1992), Sis. A.O. Omilegan (1993-1995), Sis. Winifred Adebowale Shoyingbe (1996-200), Bro. Amos Gbadebo Adekunle (2001-2005).

Over the years, the Union has lot, by death, many illustrious dedicated members whose services, must be recognized in this historical document.
Two memorial services were held in remembrance of deceased members. On Sunday, 5th March 1972, a memorial service was held for the following members.

Sis. Janet yeside Amosun (died 16/1/67), Bro. Benjamin Bamidele Bamigbade (died Feb. 1968), Pa. James Ogunlana Jaiyeola (died 1965), Bro. Morakinyo Kayode (died 21/12/1970), Bro. E. Oyeleye Orisabiyi (died 1/12/67) and Bro. A.O. ponle 9died July 1969). Dr. J.T. Ayorinde was preacher at the service.

On 19th November 1988, another memorial service was held for 15 departed emmbers: Brothers P.B. Agbonhin, E.A. Adeoye, E.O. Ajayi, J.I Adesanya, Olawale Amosun, Sam Oguntona ogunniyi, Oladeji Omolodun and S.O. Oyerinde. Others were Sisters G.O. Majekodunmi, Tayo Odujukan (nee Peters), B.O. Ogundipe, W.O. Ogundipe, E.F. Sholeye, Mobolaji Folaranmi and Grace S. Oshodi (nee Adewale), Rev. (Dr.) J.O. Adeyemo preached at the service.
We also remember the following departed members for their dedicated service to the Union:- Bros. David O. Akinrogunde, D.E. Ogisi, Sis. Adeola Adegbite, Bro. Solomon Kehinde, Mosunmade Emmanuel, Oluyinka George, Tolani Ayuba, P.O Afolabi, E.A. Ayanwole, S.P.A Babalola, Layi Alawode, E.O. Dare, J.A. Akinleye. May their souls rest in peace.
We recall with joy, the golden era of ‘The Big Four’ in the Union during which the Union, for upward of 20 years, led all other Unions in financial giving to the church during the Easter Sunday celebrations and the Annual (Harvest) Thanksgiving Celebrations. ‘The Big Four’ were Pa Oladipo Williams a.k.a Onimomo, Pa. M.A. Kayode, Pa. A. O. Olukunle and Pa Olawale Amosun.

The aims and objectives of the Union are spelt out in the church constitution. They include the following:-

• To assist the pastor in maintaining orderliness during worship services.
• To promote true Christian brotherhood, and to refute all propaganda against the Church.

All the above and more have been carried out over the years including the Union’s own social obligations to its members during marriages, naming ceremonies, birthdays and even during periods of bereavement, sometimes outside Lagos.
Over the years, the Union members have supplied men to fill vacancies in the Diaconate Board of the Church. Amongst those picked are the following: Bro. (Bishop) H.A. Omamogho, Bro. (Engr.) O.A. Ige, Bro. S.O. Akinlotan, Bro. V.A. Dawodu and Bro. J.O. Odewunmi.
The Union renews itself regularly by admitting promising young men and women into its fold to fill vacancies, brought about by ageing and death, after due screening.